Image Not Found

Asmita Alam Shammy

"Printmaking" is a language for the modern-artist that can help them to reconstruct reality from their private experience. This language encompasses several categories that descried the process used: Relief Process, Intaglio Process (Etching, Drypoint, etc), Planographic Process (Lithograph, Platography, etc), Offset Monotype and Monoprint. The Department of printmaking was established in 1948 as a Graphic Art Department. This name has been changed to “Printmaking Department” in 1978. After 2008 when Charukala became a Faculty of the Dhaka University, from the time. Now it is established as a well-known Department of Printmaking, Faculty of Fine Art, Dhaka University. From the beginning of the establishment of Fine Art (1948) Mr. Shafiuddin Ahmed, Mr. Habibur Rahman and Syed Ali Ahsan were engaged as a teacher of this Department. Before that time, all of them were engaged as a teacher of Calcutta Govt. Art College. Later on, after coming back to Japan. Mr. Mohammad Kibria joined this Printmaking Department (1962). Notably, indigenous artist Mohammad Kibria was engaged in the Department of Drawing and Painting (1954-1961) before that time coming back to Japan he joined this Printmaking Department. After joining as a Professor emeritus he was associated as an Honorable personality to till death. Mr. Mahmudul Haque joined as a teacher from 1969-1989 in the Department of Drawing and Painting. After coming back to Japan he again joined that Department. In 1990 he has joined as a Professor of the Department of Printmaking. Now he has been associated as an Honorary Professor in this Department. Another famous personality Syed Abul Braq Alvi has joined this department in 1972. Now the Professor Syed Abul Braq Alvi is associated as an Honorary Professor in this Department. Professor, Rokeya Sultana joined this department as a lecturer in 1987. Among the young teachers, Professor, Md. Anisuzzaman joined the department in 2001 as a lecturer. Later Associate Professor, Dr. Sheikh Mohammad Roknuzzaman (Current Chairman) and Assistant Professor Joya Shahreen Haque in 2008; Assistant Professor, Asmita Alam Shammi and Assistant Professor, Nazir Hossain Khan joined in 2010, and Assistant Professor, Kamruzzaman joined in 2012 as Lecturers respectively. Besides, Jhotan Chandra Roy has been working as a part-time teacher in the department since 2016.