The Faculty of Science of Dhaka University started its journey in 1921 in the Curzon Hall campus with three Departments, namely Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry. The Chemistry Department, at present is situated in two locations, “Curzon Hall” and “Mukarram Hossain Khundkar Biggan Bhaban”.

Professor Dr. Md. Qamrul Ehsan, is at present, Chairman since 01/02/2023.

Teaching staff: There are 21 Professors, 07 Associate Professors, 04 Assistant Professors and 04 Lecturers in the Department. 9 teachers are on study leave for higher studies abroad. Among these teachers 29 are Ph. D.

The Department regularly arrange “Khundkar Memorial Lecture” since 1981, instituted by the University of Dhaka, to honour the memory of Late Professor M H Khundker.

Number of students and Degrees offered: The Department runs courses for the B.S. Honours, M.S., M. Phil, Post-doctoral and Ph.D. degrees in Chemistry. Besides it gives minor courses in Chemistry of various Departments under the Faculties of Sciences and Biological Sciences. There are about 750 students (including those of minor courses) in the Department. Of this students 25 percent are women.

Research Activities: Currently, 42 M.S., 08 M. Phil and 12 Ph.D. students are doing research in the Department.