The Department of Islamic History and Culture was established in 1948, introducing Masters Preliminary course, leading to the Masters of Arts (Final) in 1948-49 session. B.A. ( Honours) course with subsidiary was introduced in 1950-51.The MA Preliminary course has been discontinued in 1994-95. The Semester System was introduced in undergraduate level in 2006 and in the Masters Level in 2012.The curriculum in the Masters level is streamlined to three groups having district themes- Group A: MODERN MUSLIMS STATES, Group B: SOCIOLOGICAL HISTORY OF ISLAM, Group C: ISLAMIC ART AND ARCHAELOGY. The department also offers M.Phil and Ph.D. research programmes.

The Department is pioneer to have its own Departmental Seminar, named Abu Mohamed Habibullah Smriti Pathagar, established in 1953. The Department also started study cum educational tours and annual picnic in 1954 and a Departmental Museum was opened in 1970 (now named as M.R.Tarafdar Smriti Museum).Recently, one classroom has been modernized and renamed after the name of National Professor Dr. Sufia Ahmed. Within the span of nearly 69 years, due to the contributions of its educators, researchers, scholars and pupils, the discipline of Islamic History and Culture stands as a unique example of academic excellence and research.