Department of Geography was established in 1948 and renamed as the Department of Geography and Environment in 1996. The department occupies the first floor of the Qazi Motahar Hossain Bhaban.

Department is run by 30 faculties and hosts about 500 students. The Department offers courses on Physical Geography; Human Geography; Environment and Geo-spatial Techniques. Department offers Four Years B.S. (Hons) Undergraduate Program and one-year M.S Graduate Program. MS level students are offered courses of three streams covering both thesis and non-thesis group. Graduate Program also offers Master of Philosophy (M.Phil.) and Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.). A two-years Master of Science in Disaster Management (MSDM) evening program, under the department was initiated in 2010. So far, more than 100 students have completed the degree.

There is a seminar library with modern facilities and six well equipped laboratories in the department. These are: GIS; RS; Environmental Analysis; Physical Geography; Cartography and Urban Studio. The Department offers Professional Certificate Courses on GIS. Environment Club, funded and run by the Department, hosts the National Environmental Olympiad (NEO) every year to celebrate World Environment Day. Department offers awards to the students for their outstanding performance and to help the economically stressed but brilliant students.