The Department of Microbiology was established in 1979. Late Professor Dr. Anwarul Azim Chowdhury was the founder Chairman of the department. The department was initially located in the ground floor (western side) of the Dept. of Zoology together with a small chunk of the eastern part of the main Curzon Hall building (ground floor). In September 1999, the department was moved to the ground and first floor of the newly constructed Science complex building with a floor area of approximately 27,000 square feet.

The department steadily gained reputation in education and research at home and abroad and the demand for trained Microbiologists gained ground. This necessitated opening of the undergraduate (Honours) course in the academic year 1988-89. In the academic session 1994-1995, the traditional three-year B. Sc. (Honours ) program has been changed to four-year B. Sc. (Honours) as terminal degree. Microbiology is one of the most preferred subjects amongst the undergraduate students. Presently the department offers specialized courses and research facilities in post-graduate levels (MS, M. Phil and PhD). Currently, about 260 students are studying in different academic years and 19 Faculty members are involved in teaching and research in the Department.